Studio strobe portrait

 

 

For this assignment I must critique this picture and discuss the subject and lighting. I think they probably had two gels on the strobe in the back with a blue and purple gel. Then they have a red gel in front of him on the right to illuminate his right side in the red. Then I think he has a gel that is blue on the light on his left. This might just be me, but this picture also gives off queer vibes. I have no idea if he is queer or something, but his pose gives off femme and masculine at the same time and the colors also give off like blue for male, red for female, and purple for nonbinary. This feels like a picture I would see for a pride photoshoot during pride month. I have no idea if this is the message but that’s what I feel when looking at the picture. It feels like the photographer wanted to make him colorful and pride flags are colorful while pretty. The lighting behind him also just looks like the Bi flag which I’m not sure if this was intension or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *